QADIYA is a non-profit, community project: an archive of Palestine’s history, built for the cause and open to everyone.
This is an early pilot. Its records were gathered with AI help from cited sources and are still being checked, so don’t rely on them yet, and tell us if something is wrong.
We’re looking for people and organisations to build it with us: historians, archivists, translators, designers, developers, and partners who can support the work.
OCHA documented mass casualties during the 14 May Gaza demonstrations. Its same-day flash update and later period report are retained as separate reported accounts below.
This entry records only the account described in its cited sources. Read the precise references and the connected dossier for wider context; absence of a detail here is not evidence that it did not occur.
A larger event can contain smaller events. Follow a record, or inspect the evidence for its place in the sequence. Containment does not imply causation.
A bounded record of the Gaza demonstrations during the UN inquiry’s 2018 coverage. The closing date describes the investigation’s scope; it does not say that the demonstrations ended then.
OCHA documented mass casualties during the 14 May Gaza demonstrations. Its same-day flash update and later period report are retained as separate reported accounts below.
Human Rights Watch reported that Tarek Loubani was shot near the Gaza separation fence on 14 May. This incident record also connects the reported rescue and subsequent documentation.
Loubani told Human Rights Watch that Mousa Abu Hassanein helped rescue him after he was shot. The source’s relative timing is not converted into an invented clock time.
Attributed to OCHA and the UN commission’s published coverage. Contextual placement within the explicitly bounded inquiry period; not a claim that the protest campaign ended in 2018.
Attributed to Human Rights Watch. The source dates the individual incident to the same demonstration day. Containment does not establish motive or intent.
Same-day reported figure for 14 May. It includes deaths described in unclear circumstances; it is not added to the later report. · Reporting cut-off: 14 May 2018, as of 20:30; timezone not stated by the report
Attributed to Gaza Ministry of Health, as reported by OCHA on 14 May 2018. An attributed report, not a computed archive total. The underlying reporting authority is shared with the later OCHA account.
Figure for the same 14 May event in OCHA’s 8–21 May reporting-period review. Publication date and observation cut-off are different concepts. · Reporting cut-off: Exact cut-off not stated. Reporting period: 8–21 May; publication: 24 May 2018.
Attributed to Gaza Ministry of Health, as reported by OCHA on 24 May 2018. Do not add this value to the same-day figure, or infer why the figures differ without further evidence.